Biblical Womanhood: Day 14

We have looked at five important doctrines that a woman seeking biblical womanhood should stand firm upon in her life. It is because of these doctrines that we affirm a number of beliefs that are central to the Christian faith and those desiring to practice biblical womanhood. For the next several weeks we will examine these beliefs and how they relate to us and the culture in which we live.

Biblical Womanhood Day 14

God’s timing never escapes me. As I was writing and planning the posting of this series I was unaware of the Sanctity of Life Sunday date (Sunday, January 17 this year) nor of the anniversary of the Roe v Wade decision (January 22nd)… until I began researching this post. I do not believe that today’s topic was an accident.

Human life is precious to God and is to be valued and protected, from the point of conception until rightful death.

The abortion issue is an extremely volatile topic. Increasingly so is the right to die (euthanasia) issue. Having lost four children (three in the second trimester) I have a unique perspective on the abortion issue. Because of my pregnancy complications I was monitored extremely closely. In my last pregnancy we went in for an ultrasound as soon as possible. It was determined that I was 7 weeks along. Because medical equipment had improved so much in the decade or so of my pregnancies, we were able to see and hear the heartbeat of our baby. Life does begin at conception.

I also know what it is to have to make that end of life decision. It is difficult. Our third child was a “24 weeker” (preemie) and under 2 pounds. Fold a piece of notebook paper in half and you will have his approximate body length (head to toe) and width. For 17 days he fought infection and endured a heart surgery (his heart was smaller than my thumbnail). Several days after the surgery his heart began giving out. The doctors and nurses in the NICU are heroes for what they do in trying to keep these babies alive. They performed CPR on him several times to bring him back. We finally gave permission for them to turn off the machines to end his suffering because there was nothing more medically they could do for him. Not easy. But God was present in a very real way. Caleb died in my arms while rocking him and singing “Jesus Loves Me.”

If you have not made a decision on the issues surrounding the sanctity of life, you need to. It is a fight. As women seeking to live a life of biblical womanhood, we must have God’s mind on these issues. To God, life is precious. No life is ever a mistake. Suffering comes so that we can rest in Him and point others to Him. For today, I will not be commenting on the verses. Scripture speaks for itself on these matters.

Genesis 1:27, So God created man in his own image, in the image of God created he him; male and female created he them.

Genesis 9:6, Whoso sheddeth man’s blood, by man shall his blood be shed: for in the image of God made he man.

Exodus 20:13, Thou shalt not kill.

Job 1:21, And said, Naked came I out of my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return thither: the LORD gave, and the LORD hath taken away; blessed be the name of the LORD.

Job 31:15, Did not he that made me in the womb make him? and did not one fashion us in the womb?

Psalm 127:3, Lo, children are an heritage of the LORD: and the fruit of the womb is his reward.

Psalm 139:13-16, For thou hast possessed my reins: thou hast covered me in my mother’s womb. 14 I will praise thee; for I am fearfully and wonderfully made: marvellous are thy works; and that my soul knoweth right well. 15 My substance was not hid from thee, when I was made in secret, and curiously wrought in the lowest parts of the earth. 16 Thine eyes did see my substance, yet being unperfect; and in thy book all my members were written, which in continuance were fashioned, when as yet there was none of them.

Ecclesiastes 3:1-3, To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven: A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted; A time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up;

Ecclesiastes 7:17, Be not over much wicked, neither be thou foolish: why shouldest thou die before thy time?

Ecclesiastes 8:5-8, Whoso keepeth the commandment shall feel no evil thing: and a wise man’s heart discerneth both time and judgment. Because to every purpose there is time and judgment, therefore the misery of man is great upon him. For he knoweth not that which shall be: for who can tell him when it shall be? There is no man that hath power over the spirit to retain the spirit; neither hath he power in the day of death: and there is no discharge in that war; neither shall wickedness deliver those that are given to it.

Jeremiah 1:5, Before I formed thee in the belly I knew thee; and before thou camest forth out of the womb I sanctified thee, and I ordained thee a prophet unto the nations.

Matthew 5:21, Ye have heard that it was said by them of old time, Thou shalt not kill; and whosoever shall kill shall be in danger of the judgment:

1 Corinthians 3:16-17, Know ye not that ye are the temple of God, and that the Spirit of God dwelleth in you? 17 If any man defile the temple of God, him shall God destroy; for the temple of God is holy, which temple ye are.

1 Corinthians 6:19-20, What? know ye not that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost which is in you, which ye have of God, and ye are not your own? 20 For ye are bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body, and in your spirit, which are God’s.

Ephesians 2:10, For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them.

Hebrews 9:27, And as it is appointed unto men once to die, but after this the judgment:

 

_________________________________________________________

The framework of this series was taken from the True Woman Manifesto provided through Revive Our Hearts Ministry.

One thought on “Biblical Womanhood: Day 14

Leave a Reply

