Happy New Year!

Happy New Year! ‘Tis the dawn of a new year full of opportunities to become more Christ-like. Time to shake off the old year. Time to reflect on the goals set and the goals met. Time to remember goals that we didn’t quite accomplish. And that’s okay. We are ambitious people. Sometimes too ambitious. I think that is why Philippians 3:13-14 are my life verses.

13 Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before,

14 I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.

Happy New Year 2016

The year of 2015 was a whirlwind for our family. Many changes. Several trials. New focus. Future possibilities. Through it all the Lord was with us slowing us down when needed, pushing us forward when necessary, but always there, always providing, always present. Although not every goal was met within the year, many are on track to be completed in the coming months.

We do not know as yet what will transpire in the year of 2016, however, we do know that “we have plans.” (I know. The phrase “when we plan, God laughs” popped in my head too as I typed.) I suppose that it would be better to say that we have goals. The idea of a resolution has always seemed so definite, so final. If I fail by the third week of January… well, now what am I supposed to do? But with a goal we can set mini goals along the way. Every large endeavor has many, many steps along the way before accomplishing the goal.

What are your plans, your goals for this year? Is it to read the Bible through this year? Find a Bible reading plan to follow so you can accomplish it one day at a time. Is it to lose weight? Start by changing your breakfast or snack habits. Add a new area every month. Do you want to learn a new skill? Find a class or someone who can teach you. Desiring a job change? Create your resume. Take classes to expand your job skills.

Regardless of the goals you desire to set, keep in mind the heart of God. What would the Lord want you to do? Is the goal you are desiring to meet going to draw you away from Him or bring you closer to Him?

Lately, my husband has been habitually saying we are nearing five decades of life. (We have a couple years to go.) I still think I’m in my mid-30’s. I have no idea what he is talking about! However, my birth certificate agrees with him which, I suppose, means that I am entering those Titus 2 years. Don’t misunderstand, there have always been those younger that I have had the privilege of teaching over the years. But, now, more than ever, I feel that I need to do more. To speak Truth into the lives of women. I’m not simply talking about homemaking and child rearing tips. I mean real meaty topics that I’m afraid are not being learned. If they were, I don’t believe we would be seeing the trouble and heartache we are in the lives of so many women within the church.

With this in mind, over the next few weeks the blogging is going to be focused on biblical womanhood. To be a biblical woman of God means to live a counter-cultural life, to follow God’s Word on matters and to eschew the philosophies, ideas, and trends of the world system. We are inundated daily by false teachers, false philosophies, and misleading advice. We must deliberately seek to learn what it is that God would have us to do, who He would have us to be. Come join me as we look into the topic of being a biblical woman of God.

 

Leave a Reply

